The Electronic Portfolio of

Introductory Essay

In Uncategorized on April 11, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Creating an E-Portfolio presented itself to me as an opportunity to make a supplement to conventional job application materials, package and stamp my college career, and display the interests and skills that my undergraduate experience shaped.

Writing from the various stages of my academic development is contained in the portfolio. The first tab, Academic Writing, features essays I have written over the past four school years, as well as an introductory essay written in the summer before freshman year. Some of these works include the stages of the writing process, which is crucial to good composition. Instructor feedback, peer critiques, drafts, and prewriting can be viewed for several different entries.

The Professional Writing tab contains the essay I wrote following my internship at the courthouse, the press release I wrote for my friend’s Native American event, and some research I am currently conducting at the business school.

A greater understanding of my personality can be garnered by skimming through the Reflective Writing and Creative Writing tabs. They contain humorous short excerpts and poems, a list of my favorite words, and cogitations from my growth process in writing in new forms of media. The Multimodal Artifacts tab lists a few of these forays into different media forms. An interactive website, video, and PowerPoint presentation all demonstrate my ability to write across topics and media.

My growth as a writer is readily apparent from reading these works from across eras. My first year writing class, for instance, reveals an inexperienced writer trying to impress the audience by using big words (paragraph 1).

It is on the front page of the portfolio itself, however, where I would like most attention to be directed. My current paper in my political science seminar is visible, as is my major project I wrote in Advanced Rhetoric and Research. Moreover, my LinkedIn, resume, and blog link are all included.

The political science paper is in many ways a culmination of my major. It is the most work-intensive class I took in political science, due to the amount of reading required every week, as well as the structure of the class. It is a graduate-level seminar with only seven students, so coming to class equipped with arguments and ideas about specific constitutional issues is crucial. For these reasons, this paper is something of which I am most proud at this juncture of graduation.

The policy journal I chose to write for my major project is also a focal point of the portfolio. It serves to inform, analyze, and persuade with regard to three policy areas: economic, international defense, and social. It was important to me to challenge myself in my writing by attempting to tackle an issue outside of my studies: the Federal Reserve board and economics in general. To learn about the Fed and prepare myself to issue a statement regarding its policies, I collected articles from The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, The New York Times, and any other relatively accessible publishing in reference to it. In the essay, my writing is directed to an audience of similar sophistication to me in order to make sense of the issue’s complexities.

The journal also includes a foreign policy memo regarding terrorism in Northern Africa, an issue closer to my area of expertise. I chose to close the policy journal with a more discussion-oriented piece on the general state of society in America.

In production of this portfolio, I principally viewed it as a vehicle for giving a potential employer a more holistic idea of who I am, what I am capable of, and how I can impact his or her business. As I wrote, however, I began to see the value that the project was affording me personally. I immediately saw the benefit of compiling and defining an end-product to four years of university life. Sure a degree represents the sum of all the different parts that comprised one’s education; but what, exactly, are those parts? The portfolio gave me the chance to interact directly with the many facets of my college experience so as to view them together and draw conclusions from them.

My portfolio foremost presents my professional side, one that seeks a career in Washington, DC either inside the government or surrounding. But it also serves as a personal thesis. The decision to include Creative Writing and numerous pieces of Reflective Writing, such as personal accounts of the origin of my joy of writing and experiences in blogging for the first time, was intended to provide the reader with a better idea of who I am. I think it is crucial that recent graduates have a grasp of where they have been and what they can offer. By perusing my portfolio I want users to be able to paint a picture of me, and hopefully be able to pinpoint precisely why I may be a good candidate for a career in their field. My writing aptitude, experiences, and plans for the future can be viewed simultaneously to help guide this perspective.

Leave a Reply

